Call free on
1300 575 394
Get a quote

Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Services Award

4 Yearly Review of Modern Awards
Return to previous page
Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Services Award

Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Services Award

6 January 2021

As part of the 4 yearly review of the modern awards, on 21 December 2020, the Fair Work Commission (‘Commission)’ issued a determination to make several changes to the Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Services Award 2020. This determination resulted from the decisions [2020] FWCFB 6535 and [2020] FWCFB 6906 issued by the Commission on 8 December 2020 and 21 December 2020 respectively to address numerous substantive claims made by various parties.

What are the changes?

The most significant changes are outlined below:
  • Broadened coverage of the Award to include Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander health workers and practitioners as an occupation (clause 4.1(b)) as defined in the Award (clause 2). Consequential amendments will also impact labour hire firms and training providers (clause 4.3 and 4.4). Consistent with this, the title of the Award has changed from “Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Services Award 2020” to “Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Workers and Practitioners and Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Services Award 2020”. This more correctly reflects the mix of occupational and industry coverage the amended Award now provides.
  • Revision of the ‘Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander Health Worker/Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander Community Health Worker employees’ classifications into a 5 Grade classification structure (previously 4 Grades only). The previous Grade 1 has been split into two separate grade and indicative roles and qualification requirements have also been amended or added.
  • Introduction of clauses for “progression” (clause 12.3), “recognition of previous service” (see clause 12.4) and “evidence of qualifications” (clause 12.5) to complement the practical operation of the classification structure and to support and acknowledge skills and qualifications attainment, and career development
  • Introduction of 5 new allowances:
    • Nauseous Work Allowance (clause 18.2(b)),
    • Medication Administration Allowance (clause 18.2(c)),
    • Telephone allowance (clause 18.3(d)),
    • Blood count allowance (clause 18.3(e)), and
    • Replacement, Cleaning or Repair to Damaged Clothing Allowance (clause 18.3(f))
  • Introduction of a paid rest break provision (clause 15.2) which is a standard entitlement across almost all health sector awards
  • Introduction of an additional paid rest break provision for working in heat (clause 15.3)
  • Minor amendment to the Ceremonial Leave provision (clause 26) to clarify that the provision is intended to also cover employees’ absences for the purpose of bereavement related ceremonies and obligations

When will the changes come into effect?

These changes will be effective from the start of the first full pay period on or after 1 January 2021.

To view the determination in full click here.

Sign up to get the latest news and updates

Like what you’re hearing?

With plans available from just $58 per week, now is an excellent time to join Workplace Assured.